Measures of Academic Progress (produced by NWEA)

Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) is a series of tests that measure students' general knowledge in reading, math, and science through a state-aligned computerized test. MAP tests are adaptive tests that assess the instructional level and growth of each student.  In Anoka-Hennepin the MAP test is given in the fall in grades 2 through 8 and intermittently into high school. MAP testing helps teachers identify areas that may be more challenging for students and, if necessary, adjust instructional strategies to improve student's understanding.

Proficiency is determined by NWEA based on nationally determined norms based on the performance of the millions of students that take MAP. The MAP assessments are "normed" every three years. That means comparisons among all U.S. students taking the test are updated every three years, which ensures that the comparisons remain accurate, reliable and useful to educators.
Each MAP assessment is made up of parts, which are called goals, and are given a score called a RIT score that indicates the students instructional level. In addition to goals, in reading, students are given a Lexile score which  measures the difficulty level of written text. This is a useful tool for selecting books that are closely matched to your child’s reading skill so that the student is not bored by the simplicity of the text, nor are they hampered by its difficulty.
The following are goal areas for each test:

MAP: Reading 2-5 or Reading 6+ 

  Informational Text
  Foundational Skills & Vocabulary

MAP: Mathematics 2-5 

  Numbers & Operation
  Geometry & Measurement
  Data Analysis

MAP: Mathematics 6+

  Numbers & Operations
  Geometry & Measurement
  Data Analysis & Probability
For additional detailed information, check out NWEA (