Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCA)

The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment - Series III (MCA-III) tests, also referred to as MCAs, are state-required assessments that are part of a Statewide Testing and Reporting/Accountability System. This is an educational accountability system to promote high standards of learning and success for all students.
MCAs are the state tests that help districts measure student progress toward Minnesota's academic standards and meet the state and federal accountability requirements for reading and mathematics. Science assessments are also given but are not used as part of accountability calculations. Beginning in spring 2015, all MCAs assessments will be administered online.
The primary purpose of the MCA-IIIs is to determine student proficiency on grade level concepts, however, the tests for each grade level, as well as the strands within a particular grade level, are not equal in difficulty. These tests provide the district with beneficial information regarding students' strengths and weaknesses in order to make important decisions about curriculum and instruction. This better enables the district to monitor student achievement and to prepare students for graduation and success beyond high school.
Alternate Assessment

The MCAs do not appropriately measure the knowledge and skills of a small number of students with disabilities related to grade-level content standards.  Therefore, to ensure that all students in public schools are fully included in state accountability systems and have access to challenging instruction linked to state content standards, an additional assessment based on alternate achievement standards is administered to qualifying students.
The Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS) is the alternate assessment for the MCA-IIIs and is administered to students with the most significant cognitive delays meeting set criteria.  This test is administered in math, reading and science and is based on alternate academic standards. 
MCAs in Reading, Mathematics and Science
For all three subject areas in which the MCA is administered, questions range in difficulty according to cognitive levels aligned to Webb's Depth of Knowledge model. Questions are aligned to level 1 (recall), level 2 (skill/concept), and level 3 (strategic thinking). As grade levels advance, the percentages of each of these types of questions change.

MCA-III Reading
MCAs in reading are given in grades 3-8 and 10. The test consists of both fiction and nonfiction passages with multiple choice question types.
Reading strands are as follows:
1. Vocabulary
2. Comprehension
3. Literature

The mathematics MCA is an adaptive test given to students in grades 3-8 and 11. Students are asked to respond to a variety of question types, including multiple types of technology enhanced items.

All 8th grade students in MN are required to complete Algebra I to meet the grade level standards in math. This also helps to prepares them to meet the high school requirement of an Algebra II course and provides an opportunity for advanced math courses to be taken.

Math Strands are as follows:

Grade 3-8
1. Number sense
2. Patterns, functions & algebra
3. Data, statistics & probability
4. Spatial sense, geometry & measurement
Mathematical reasoning and Number Sense are embedded across all strands.

Grade 11
1. Patterns, functions & algebra
2. Data, statistics & probability
3. Spatial sense, geometry & measurement
Mathematical reasoning and Number Sense are embedded across all strands.

MCA-III Science

The MCA-III science test is given to students in grades 5, 8 and after the completion of Biology in High School. The test consists of multiple choice questions and technology enhanced items. 

Science Strands are as follows:

1. Nature of Science and Engineering
2. Physical Science
3. Earth and Space Science
4. Life Science

For Additional information about the MCA you may go the Minnesota Department of Education website.