Return to Headlines

Brookside's Kristin Rutz named candidate for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Kristin Rutz(01/29/2024) Candidates for the 2024 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award have been announced and Anoka-Hennepin has seven educators who were nominated.

The teachers are:

  • Deena Bayer, Social Studies, Blaine High School.
  • Lana Johnson, Grade 3, Ramsey Elementary School.
  • Stephanie Lunseth, Grade 1, Ramsey Elementary School.
  • Maia Miller, Work Experience Coordinator/Teacher, Champlin Park High School.
  • Tom Powers, Grade 1, Rum River Elementary School.
  • Kristin Rutz, Special Education Teacher (SLD), Brookside Elementary School.
  • Jamie Weisz, Special Education Teacher (SLD), Champlin Park High School.

The seven Anoka-Hennepin teachers are among 159 candidates for the award statewide. 

This year’s program will name the 60th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through grade 12, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. 

The 60th Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 5. Over the coming weeks, a panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists. 

Read more about the award and see a statewide list of all candidates on the Education Minnesota website.