Return to Headlines

District nominates 10 student-athletes for MSHSL Triple “A” Award

(01/17/2020) Ten Anoka-Hennepin student-athletes have been nominated for the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Triple “A” Award for the 2019-20 school year.MSHSL Triple "A" Award

Each year, the MSHSL honors student-athletes who excel in Academics (3.0 GPA or better), Athletics (at least one MSHSL-sponsored athletic activity) and Arts (MSHSL-sponsored debate, one-act play, speech, visual arts, and instrumental or vocal music). The award is given to one senior girl and one senior boy in the state of Minnesota.

Anoka, Blaine, Champlin Park and Coon Rapids high schools represent Region 5AA while Andover High School is in Region 7AA for the MSHSL Triple “A” Award.

Each high school in the state can nominate one senior female and male student for consideration. Triple “A” Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process involving member schools of the league, the league’s administrative regions, and a special committee of educators, business leaders, and members from the fine arts and athletic communities.

The Anoka-Hennepin nominees for the Triple “A” Award are:

  • Andover High School - Olivia McCarter and Jack Sharon.
  • Anoka High School - Alexandra Bragg and Ben Urbaniak.
  • Blaine High School - Sammi Friedrich and Tony Zhang.
  • Champlin Park High School - Georgiana Stammer and Connor Preston.
  • Coon Rapids High School - Rebekah Weimholt and Reed Smith.