Return to Headlines

Three district schools recognized by Project Lead the Way

PLTW and school logos(05/03/2024) Three schools from Anoka-Hennepin have been recognized by Project Lead the Way (PLTW) for their commitment to helping students own their education by increasing student access, engagement and achievement in PLTW programs. 

  • Secondary schools: Blaine High School - Center for Engineering, Mathematics, and Science (BHS) and Coon Rapids High School - Center for Biomedical Sciences and Engineering (CRHS) were both named PLTW Distinguished High Schools. BHS and CRHS are the only two high schools in the state of Minnesota to receive the award.
  • Elementary schools: Monroe Elementary School - Mathematics, Science and Children’s Engineering was named a Distinguished School Launch. 

PLTW is a national program that creates engaging classroom environments by empowering students to develop and apply in-demand, transportable skills by exploring real-world challenges. Through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science, students not only learn technical skills, but also learn to solve problems, think critically and creatively, communicate, and collaborate. PLTW also provides teachers with the training, resources, and support they need to engage students.

PLTW Launch is an elementary Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) curriculum designed for PreK-5 grade levels that taps into students’ exploratory nature, engaging them in learning that feels like play, and encourages them to keep discovering.

This is the seventh straight year BHS has been recognized by PLTW and the fifth overall and fourth straight for CRHS. Monroe has earned this recognition in five consecutive years.