Return to Headlines

McKinley's Wendi Delmore named semifinalist for Minnesota Teacher of the Year award

photos and names of teacher of the year semifinalists(03/01/2023) Of the eight Anoka-Hennepin educators named candidates for the 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award, two have been selected as semifinalists. 

Wendi Delmore, a second grade teacher at McKinley Elementary School, and Lisa Neaderhiser, a special education teacher (EBD) at Jackson Middle School - A Specialty School for Math and Science, are among 33 semifinalist candidates for the award statewide.

This year’s program will name the 59th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through grade 12, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. 

The 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 7 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. 

Read more about the award, and see a statewide list of semifinalists on the Education Minnesota website.