Return to Headlines

Twenty-eight Anoka High School students named AP scholars

AP College Board logo(10/23/2023) A total of 28 students from Anoka High School were named Advanced Placement (AP) scholars based on scores on AP course exams taken during the 2022-23 school year.

Anoka-Hennepin offers more than two dozen different AP courses to high school students which have been audited and approved by the College Board, a nonprofit organization of colleges, universities, secondary schools and higher education institutions focused on college readiness programs. Students who complete an AP course can take an optional exam and earn college credit, depending on their score on the exam and admission requirements at the college or university they attend. An AP exam score of 3 or higher (on a scale of 1 to 5) earns credit at many of the nation’s colleges and universities.

There are three different levels of AP scholar recognition district students earned. These levels are defined by the scores received and the number of exams taken during a student’s high school career:

  • AP Scholar with Distinction is given to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. A total of 72 students from across the district earned this recognition.
  • AP Scholar with Honor recognizes students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams. A total of 71 district students earned this status.
  • AP Scholar is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams taken. A total of 162 district students earned this distinction.

The Anoka High School students who were recognized as AP scholars during the 2022-23 school year are listed below by category.

AP Scholar with Distinction (6): Ryan Barthel, Courtney Graves, Enzo La Hoz Calassara, Emma Lambert, Madison McNamara, Kaelyn Nelson.

AP Scholar with Honor (9): Sophia Acord, Charles Gbati, Andrew Klocker, Jennah Krakow, Grace Morphew, Mira Mussehl, Connor Peters, Grace Schilling, Payton Wasurick.

AP Scholar (13): Thomas Coombe, Benjamin Dauman, Teagan Gordy, Jailen Mallak, Sophia Mitchell, Erin Neises, Joseph Pinewski, Carmine Rosser, Katrina Santers, Alexander Schabert, Isabel Schwebach, Anders Skarphol, Alexander Wimmer.