Return to Headlines

District student-athletes and families learn about NCAA recruiting process in event at Andover High School

(01/15/2020) Navigating the NCAA recruiting process can be a daunting task for student-athletes and their families, but with career and college specialists in Anoka-Hennepin high schools, Rob Fornasiere speaks with families at Andover High School on Jan. 13 the district is providing resources to help.


On Jan. 13, student-athletes from across the district attended an event at Andover High School, which focused on navigating the NCAA recruiting process across all levels — Division I, II and III. The featured speaker at the event was Rob Fornasiere, who spent 39 seasons as a collegiate baseball coach, including 33 years at the University of Minnesota.


During his tenure at Minnesota, the Golden Gophers had a lot of success on the field, earning 1,164 wins, nine Big 10 championships and 17 NCAA Tournament appearances. He also took a lot of pride in the fact that after recruiting over 350 student-athletes, only three players in the program’s history that finished their eligibility did not graduate.


“The recruiting process is different for everyone,” Fornasiere said. “If you’re a highly-recruited student-athlete, it can be a lot of fun, but it can also be a big burden on others.”


Fornasiere encourages parents to attend his speaking engagements to not only support their student-athletes, but to help families understand the recruiting process and all aspects of playing athletics in college.


“Parents know their kids the best,” Fornasiere said. “They know their strengths and weaknesses and desires, and they should be there to help them sort out all of the information.”


Fornasiere covered basic NCAA academic and recruiting rules, timing and criteria for making a decision, academic and financial implications, while also leaving time to answer questions for those in attendance.


If you need more information or have questions regarding the NCAA recruiting process, please contact your school’s career and college specialist.


Andover High School
Eric Feigum
eric.feigum@ahschools.us
763-506-8551


Anoka High School
Colleen Neary
colleen.neary@ahschools.us
763-506-6273


Blaine High School
Stephanie Nibbe
stephanie.nibbe@ahschools.us
763-506-6760


Champlin Park High School
Monica Shaw
monica.shaw@ahschools.us
763-506-6844


Coon Rapids High School
Brenda Mitshulis
brenda.mitshulis@ahschools.us
763-506-7220


Anoka-Hennepin Technical High School
Patricia Halsey
patricia.halsey@ahschools.us
763-433-4532


STEP
Bill Voigt
bill.voigt@ahschools.us
763-433-4030