Return to Headlines

Monroe named a Distinguished School Launch by Project Lead the Way

Coon Rapids, Blaine and Monroe school logos with PLTW logos(05/05/2023) Three schools from Anoka-Hennepin have been recognized as Distinguished Schools by Project Lead the Way (PLTW). Blaine and Coon Rapids High Schools were named PLTW Distinguished high schools and Monroe Elementary was named a Distinguished School Launch.

Blaine High School - Center for Engineering, Mathematics, and Science (BHS) and Coon Rapids High School - Center for Biomedical Sciences and Engineering (CRHS) were both named PLTW Distinguished High Schools and Monroe Elementary School - Mathematics, Science and Children’s Engineering was named a Distinguished School Launch. 

PLTW is a national program that creates engaging classroom environments by empowering students to develop and apply in-demand, transportable skills by exploring real-world challenges. Through pathways in computer science, engineering, and biomedical science, students not only learn technical skills, but also learn to solve problems, think critically and creatively, communicate, and collaborate. PLTW also provides teachers with the training, resources, and support they need to engage students.

PLTW Launch is an elementary Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) curriculum designed for PreK-5 grade levels that taps into students’ exploratory nature, engaging them in learning that feels like play, and encourages them to keep discovering.

The PLTW recognition program is designed to honor districts and schools committed to helping students own their education by increasing student access, engagement and achievement in their PLTW programs.

This is the sixth straight year BHS has been recognized by PLTW and the fourth overall and third straight for CRHS. Monroe has earned this recognition four straight years.