Return to Headlines

Pick your program: Specialty and magnet school options provide family choice within Anoka-Hennepin School District

(10/08/2021) - Anoka-Hennepin Schools offers 12 schools that provide in-demand educational options such as the arts; science, technology, math, engineering and biomedical sciences (STEM/STEAM), as well as International Baccalaureate (IB).

Anoka-Hennepin specialty and magnet schools are public schools available to all students at no additional cost. These schools, which are at the elementary, middle school and high school levels, are designed to provide family choice. Students who live within the Anoka-Hennepin boundaries are eligible to apply to any of the specialty or magnet schools. The magnet schools belong to Northwest Suburban Integration School District (NWSISD) which provides transportation to those schools. Students may join the specialty programs using an in-district transfer process without transportation.

The specialty and magnet schools are hosting information nights/open houses for parents to learn more about the programs offered. These events range from late October to mid January.

For specific open house dates, more information on each of the specialty and magnet schools and the application/enrollment process, visit

Six sites offer specialty programs, which students can access via in-district transfer, while six sites are magnet schools, which are available through the NWSISD.

Specialty school programs (open to A-H students via in-district transfer):
Champlin Park High School - International Baccalaureate Programme
Jackson Middle School - A Specialty School for Math and Science
Champlin-Brooklyn Park Academy for Math and Environmental Science
Hoover Elementary Biomedical, Health Sciences and Engineering
Lincoln Elementary School for the Arts
Monroe Elementary School - Mathematics, Science and Children’s Engineering

Magnet schools in the Northwest Suburban Integration School District (NWSISD):
Anoka High School - Center for Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math (STEAM)
Blaine High School - Center for Engineering, Mathematics and Science (CEMS)
Coon Rapids High School - Center for Biomedical Sciences and Engineering
Anoka Middle School for the Arts
Evergreen Park Elementary - STEM School of Innovation
University Avenue Elementary School - Aerospace, Children’s Engineering and Science (ACES)