Return to Headlines

2023-24 Above & Beyond Awards recipient: Mindy Meyers, Waapishki Kiisis Ikwe

Mindy Meyers“Mindy is driven by a deep care for her students, families and community. Her unique combination of warmth, engagement and thoughtful advocacy, as well as her ‘lead by example’ approach to her work, inspires others around her to be better to support the good and essential work she leads.” - Nate Manaen, Anoka-Hennepin Director of Student Services.

Over the last 11 years, Mindy Meyers, Waapishki Kiisis Ikwe has used her value in service to the community as a tool to help grow and support students in Anoka-Hennepin’s American Indian Education program. 

She works closely with community members and elders outside of her workday to stay present and connected to the local Indigenous community and continues to advocate for things that matter to families, including language instruction, cultural instruction, discipline reduction and academic success for American Indian students.

Meyers co-founded a multi-district powwow in collaboration with various north metro American Indian Education programs resulting in thousands of community members attending the event to learn more about Native American culture. She has also helped lead a statewide Native American College Fair for high school students in Minnesota to learn more about postsecondary educational opportunities. 

“My role is not just about strengthening our students, it is also about ensuring our staff have the tools and understanding they need to support our community members,” Meyers said.

Meyers involves the American Indian Education Parent Advisory Committee (AIPAC) in her work, giving council members made up of students and parents a voice and impact in guiding her work. 

“It is my passion and pleasure to work collaboratively with our parent advisory committees, students and team to advocate for change in Anoka-Hennepin which helps support the educational and holistic wellbeing of our American Indian students,” Meyers said. 

The 2024 Above & Beyond Awards ceremony to honor Meyers and 14 other exceptional employees will take place April 3 at the Educational Service Center (ESC).