Return to Headlines

Boys’ hockey programs at Andover and Blaine High Schools earn postseason awards

(03/12/19) With the high school hockey season wrapping up following the Mark Manney (pictured) named Class AA Boys' Hockey Coach of the Year Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Boys’ State Tournament on March 9, postseason awards were announced at the annual Mr. Hockey Award banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre on March 10. Two Anoka-Hennepin coaches, and one student-athlete were honored at the banquet.

Mark Manney, who led Andover High School (AndHS) to a runner-up finish at the Section 7AA Tournament, was named the John Mariucci Award winner, which is given to the Class AA Coach of the Year.

After leading Blaine High School (BHS) to a third-place finish at this year’s state tournament, head coach Chris Carroll was named the Section 5AA Coach of the Year by the Minnesota Hockey Coaches Association (MHCA).

BHS senior forward Bryce Brodzinski was named the 35th recipient of the Mr. Hockey Award, which is given to the top player in the state.

Manney led Andover to one of the best seasons in school history as the Huskies came up just short of reaching the state tournament for the first time. Andover lost a heartbreaker, 4-3 in overtime, to Duluth East High School in the section final and finished the year 24-3-1. The Huskies were ranked in the top-5 in the state all season long, climbing as high as No. 2 in the rankings.

Andover had two student-athletes in the running for the state’s highest postseason awards under Manney’s direction. Charlie Schoen was a finalist for the Mr. Hockey Award following a senior season in which he tallied 17 goals and 33 assists for 50 points, which led the team. Schoen finished his career with 73 goals, 108 assists and 108 points and will play college hockey at the upstart Arizona State University.

Manney’s squad also had one of the best goaltenders in the state in senior Ben Fritsinger who was a finalist for the Frank Brimsek Award, which is given to the top goalie in the state. Fritsinger posted a 21-2-1 record to go along with a 1.31 goals-against average and a .931 save percentage and eight shutouts.

Carroll’s Bengals earned the No. 2 seed in the state tournament and came up just short of a championship appearance. BHS opened the tournament with a 4-2 win over White Bear Lake High School before a heartbreaking loss (4-3) to Eden Prairie High School in the semifinals. The Bengals ended the season on a high note picking up a 5-1 win over St. Thomas Academy in the third-place game.

BHS finished the season with a record of 24-3-2 and entered the state tournament ranked second in the state. Following the state tournament, BHS senior Bryce Brodzinski was named the 35th recipient of the Mr. Hockey Award. Brodzinski finished the season with 91 points, on 36 goals and 55 assists helping the Bengals to a Section 5AA Championship and a third-place finish at state.

Along with Brodzinski, Carroll produced a 40-goal scorer in Carsen Richels and 40-plus point producer Cole Hansen. Richels and Hansen were both named to the 2019 MSHSL Class AA Boys’ Hockey All-Tournament team following the state tournament. Richels finished the year with 42 goals and 41 points for 83 points while Hansen added nine goals and 33 assists for 42 points. In the state tournament alone, Richels picked up two goals and three assists while Hansen added four goals and two assists.

All awards are presented by the Minnesota Minute Men Foundation.