Return to Headlines

28 district high school musicians earn All-State honors

Minnesota Music Educators Association logo(05/25/2023) Twenty-eight high school musicians from Anoka-Hennepin were named to Minnesota Music Educators (MMEA) All-State ensembles for the 2022-23 school year.

MMEA’s All-State – considered the top program of its kind across the nation – develops high school musicians and school music programs. The All-State program supports secondary school music ensembles, MMEA members and members’ students.

Students in high school bands, choirs and orchestras audition for an All-State spot in March and are then evaluated by judges on their overall musicianship and technique before final rosters are selected in April. A total of 573 students were selected for seven All-State groups. 

The following Anoka-Hennepin students were selected to All-State ensembles (total number of musicians in each group):

Mixed Choir (95) 

  • Imani Harris, Coon Rapids High School.
  • Siddissie Kumbi, Champlin Park High School.
  • Ryan Sabol, Coon Rapids High School.
  • Melakai Vue, Anoka High School.
  • Ashley Wongbi, Anoka High School.

Tenor Bass Choir (70)

  • Finnian Dillinger, Andover High School.
  • Trey Ketz, Andover High School.
  • Issac Nelson, Champlin Park High School.
  • Zachary Sullivan, Andover High School.

Soprano Alto Choir (99)

  • Cayla Abercrombie, Andover High School.
  • Reya Hadsall, Andover High School.
  • Ali Hofmann, Blaine High School.
  • Sadie Lerum, Anoka High School.
  • Ava O’Brian, Andover High School.
  • Kaylee Rakow, Champlin Park High School.
  • Madison Segerstrom, Champlin Park High School.

Concert Band (82)

  • Jesse Co, Coon Rapids High School.
  • Ephriam Cooper, Coon Rapids High School.
  • Erin Schommer, Anoka High School.

Symphonic band (98)

  • Maria Carson, Coon Rapids High School.

Orchestra (111)

  • Maia Ark, Champlin Park High School.
  • Grace Burnes, Blaine High School.
  • Ajla Dizdarevic, Blaine High School.
  • Olivia Dodge, Anoka High School.
  • Emmanuel Lawal, Blaine High School.
  • Sonya McGregor, Coon Rapids High School.
  • Tina Nguyen, Blaine High School.
  • Evelina Shirokova, Blaine High School.