Return to Headlines

District recognized for excellence in music education

School Board members receive the NAMM Best Communities for Music Education awards(05/26/2023) The Anoka-Hennepin School District has been recognized with the Best Communities for Music Education designation from the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) for the ninth year. The honor recognizes a district’s outstanding commitment to music education. 

Anoka-Hennepin was one of seven school districts in the state, and 830 nationally, to earn the award in 2023. 

Dr. Josh Delich, associate superintendent of high schools; and Doug Schmitt, Schmitt Music, presented the award from NAMM to district music teachers Candace Cooper (Rum River Elementary) and Ryan Palmer (Coon Rapids High School) at the regular School Board meeting May 22. Cooper and Palmer accepted the award on behalf of the music teachers in the district alongside Interim Superintendent Dr. Kate Maguire and members of the school board.

NAMM is a non-profit organization that aims to advance participation in music-making for all ages by supporting scientific research, philanthropic giving and public service programs. The Best Communities for Music Education award recognizes outstanding efforts by teachers, administrators, parents, students, and community leaders who have made music education part of a well-rounded education. Designations are made to districts demonstrating an exceptionally high commitment and access to music education. 

To be considered for the award, NAMM conducts an extensive review process to evaluate districts on a variety of factors - both in and outside the schools - from funding levels, participation, access to instruction, and minutes of instruction per grade level, to musical activities in and around the community.