Return to Headlines

Ten district student-athletes recognized for their work in sports and the arts

(02/13/2024) Ten Anoka-Hennepin student-athletes have been nominated for the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Triple “A” Award for the 2023-24 school year.

Each year, the MSHSL honors student-athletes who excel in Academics (3.0 GPA or better), Athletics (at least one MSHSL-sponsored athletic activity) and Arts (MSHSL-sponsored debate, one-act play, speech, visual arts, and instrumental or vocal music). The award is given to one senior female and one senior male in the state. 

Anoka, Blaine, Champlin Park and Coon Rapids high schools represent Region 5AA while Andover High School is in Region 7AA for the MSHSL Triple “A” Award. 

Each school in the state can nominate one senior female and one senior male student for consideration. Triple “A” Award recipients are selected through a multi-level process involving member schools of the league, the league’s administrative regions, and a special committee of educators, business leaders, and members from the fine arts and athletics communities. 

The Anoka-Hennepin nominees for the Triple “A” Award are:

  • Andover High School: Claire VanGheem and Finnian Dillinger.
  • Anoka High School: Grace Morphew and Evan Freking
  • Blaine High School: Angelina Drews and Nathan Taylor
  • Champlin Park High School: Emily Whitehouse and Charlie Hibbs.
  • Coon Rapids High School: Jaida Gray and Charles Schulte.