Return to Headlines

Anoka-Hennepin School Board candidate forum to be held Wed., Oct. 2

The League of Women Voters will host a candidate forum for the Anoka-Hennepin School Board, Districts 1, 2, and 5 and the Special Election candidates for Ramsey City Council, Ward 3 on Wednesday, Oct. 2 from 6:30 - 8:30 p.m. in the Anoka-Hennepin Schools board room, located at the Sandburg Education Center (1902 2nd Avenue, Anoka, MN 55303). The event is free and open to the public. Candidates will respond to prepared questions from forum organizers and to written questions from the audience.


QCTV will videotape the forum for multiple cable showings, and it will also be available to view at


Anoka-Hennepin School Board Election

Three seats on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board are up for election on Tuesday, Nov. 5 - districts one, two and five. Voters within those districts will elect representatives to serve the community as school board members for the next four years.

On the ballot:

  • District one includes Anoka and portions of Ramsey, Coon Rapids and Andover. This seat is currently held by Tom Heidemann of Anoka, who has filed for re-election. Heidemann serves as board chairperson. Erin Heers-McCardle, also of Anoka, who has also filed for election for the position. 

  • District two includes Blaine and a portion of eastern Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Marci Anderson of Blaine, who has filed for re-election. Anderson is currently the vice chair and is running unopposed.

  • District five includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Fridley and a portion of south/southern Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Nicole Hayes of Brooklyn Park, who has filed for re-election and is running unopposed. 

Voting information

Polling locations may be different than the place you voted in the last election. Enter your address in the Minnesota Secretary of State’s voter polling place finder at or call 763-324-1300 for assistance finding to polling location that serves your area. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Absentee voting

Eligible voters may vote absentee in person or by mail prior to election day. In-person absentee voting is available at the Anoka County Government Center during regular business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. In-person absentee voting is also available 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3 and until 5 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 4. The Anoka County Courthouse is located at 2100 3rd Ave. in downtown Anoka.

To request an absentee ballot application please contact Anoka County Elections at or by calling 763-324-1300. Ballots must be returned by 8 p.m. on Election Day to be counted.

To learn more about the Anoka-Hennepin School Board and see maps of areas represented please visit