Return to Headlines

Anoka-Hennepin school board candidate forum to be held in October

vote buttons(9/23/21) Anoka-Hennepin school board candidates have been invited to participate in an upcoming ‘Meet the Candidates’ forum. The non-partisan forum will be hosted by the League of Women Voters Anoka, Blaine, Coon Rapids Area (LWV ABC). The event will be recorded without a live audience on October 14, but community members are encouraged to submit questions ahead of time. If you would like to know more about how the candidates view various issues, send questions to the League’s website before midnight on October 11. 

During the forum, candidates will make opening statements and then respond to a variety of questions from moderators. The video will be available for on-demand viewing mid-October and will also air on community cable stations up to Election Day, Tuesday, November 2, 2021.

A total of six candidates have filed for Anoka-Hennepin School Board candidacy for the upcoming election. Voters within Districts 3,4, and 6 will elect representatives to serve as school board members for the next four years, with their terms beginning January 1, 2022.

District 3 candidates
Kacy Deschene, Champlin
Bill Harvey (incumbent), Champlin

District 4 candidates
Matt Audette, Andover
Dave Dirkswager, Andover

District 6 candidates
Jill Bornes, Coon Rapids
Jeff Simon (incumbent), Coon Rapids

Voters can see which district they live in, locate their polling place (which may be different from past primary and general elections) by visiting Minnesota Secretary of State polling place finder. Information is also available about early voting, registering to vote, and updating voter registration information.