Anoka-Hennepin retired employees overview

Retirees - are you looking for a way to keep in contact with current retirees and those who have retired before you?

The Anoka-Hennepin Retired Staff Association (AHRSA), formerly known as the Anoka Area Retired Educators Association, was formed in 1977 by Superintendent Erling Johnson, to provide all retired district employees (paras, nurses, secretaries, teachers, administrators, cooks, custodians, etc.) a time and place to connect and be kept apprised of issues of interest and importance in retirement as well as to enjoy a variety of special programs.

AHRSA recognizes that retired district staff are a valuable community resource and encourages participation in a variety of volunteer opportunities.

AHRSA is a local affiliate of the state association, Retired Educators Association of Minnesota (REAM). REAM is an active member of the Coalition for Public Information and keeps members informed on the TRA and PERA pension funds, health care, legislation matters and other concerns.

Anyone who has served in Anoka-Hennepin schools in any way and who will receive pensions from either TRA or PERA is welcome to AHRSA.

Yearly membership dues are $8. Spouses and friends are always welcome at the luncheons, just be sure to make a reservation for them.

AHRSA Executive Board

President: Lynn Montgomery
Past President: Jan Clemens
Treasurer: Harlan Danner
Historian: Eloise Miller
Membership: Nancy R. Swanson
Secretary: TBD
REAM Contact: Karna Brewer
Legislative: Doug Stein
Sunshine Contact: Margaret Ekstrum
Calling Committee: Bob Powell
Members at Large: Shirley Christenson, Marlene Colvin, Bob Gander and Becky Gander