• COVID-19 Data Advisory Committee

    The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) published a MN Safe Learning Plan as a resource to guide decision making for schools during the COVID-19 pandemic. The document prioritizes the health and safety of students and staff as the first priority and offers systems to manage district learning formats. Anoka-Hennepin and districts from across the state are encouraged to use county-level health information as a key data point for decisions on learning formats.  

    On page 8 of the plan, MDE sets expectations that school districts should develop and consider localized metrics to monitor and consider changes to the initial learning model selected by stating:


    “After the initial selection of a learning model for school opening, the decision to shift to an alternative learning model should center on the impact of COVID-19 at the school level, while maintaining awareness of changes in viral activity in the community through continued review of the biweekly county-level case data.” 

    Despite providing this direction, the state guidance does not identify what data or localized metrics should be considered by school districts when making decisions about learning models. 


    Follow-up communication from MDE in late October does identify possible data points, but is not specific on what metrics should be used or the process for developing and monitoring their use.  

    COVID-19 Data Advisory Committee charge

    The Anoka-Hennepin School Board values community input and is committed to adhering to data driven decision making. With this in mind, this committee will enhance the MN Safe Learning Plan for 2020-21 to create a dashboard of localized data and make recommendations for the amount of in- person learning elementary and secondary students can attend. The dashboard and recommendations will be shared publicly with the board and community.  

    Committee meeting schedule

    This group will meet virtually, Thursday afternoons after the county level data has been released. This group will meet once a week as needed until there is stability in the learning model, and as needed in the future when data warrants a review.

    Meeting agendas and minutes:


    Committee membership

    • Joe Kurland: Blaine area parent
    • Liz Alm: Anoka/Ramsey parent
    • Sean Fogarty: Andover parent
    • Rahmo Ali: Cultural liaison 
    • Jayant Anand: Cultural liaison parent chair
      Lisa Marie Cheney: Champlin parent
    • Cynthia Hiltz: Anoka-Hennepin assistant drector of Student Services, nurse
    • Mary Wolverton: associate superintendent for elementary schools  
    • Dr. Timothy Gadson, III: associate superintendent for high schools
    • Stacey Dahlby: director of secondary special education
    • Val Holthus: AHEM President
    • Verna Wong: ESL teacher
    • Paul Anderson: Elementary and secondary principal association
    • Mike George: principal, Champlin Park High School 
    • Craig Malm: local medical official 
    • Jonelle Hubbard: Anoka County Health official
    • Justin Navratil: Anoka County Public Health
    • Susan Perkins: Anoka County Public Health nurse
    • Erica Bagstad: Hennepin County Health official
    • Susan Klammer: MDH epidemiologist
    • Jeffrey Lunde: Brooklyn Park mayor 
    • Brad Wise: Coon Rapids police chief
    • David Law: superintendent
    • Jim Skelly: communications director
    • Erin Heers-McArdle: Anoka-Hennepin School Board member
    • Jeff Simon: Anoka-Hennepin School Board member
Last Modified on January 6, 2021