Return to Headlines

McKinley's Wendi Delmore named candidate for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Graphic with photos of the nine teachers listing their names and school sites and teacher of the year logo(01/26/2023) Candidates for the 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award have been announced and Anoka-Hennepin has nine educators who were nominated.

The teachers are:

  • Andrea Albright, Social Studies, Blaine High School.
  • Rachel Brisbin, ESL Teacher, Hamilton Elementary School.
  • Wendi Delmore, Grade 2, McKinley Elementary School.
  • Johanna Mueller, Grade 4, Hamilton Elementary School.
  • Lisa Neaderhiser, Special Education Teacher (EBD), Jackson Middle School.
  • Kelley Nelson, Special Education Teacher (SLD), Champlin Park High School.
  • Kristin Rutz, Special Education Teacher (SLD), Brookside Elementary School.
  • Lisa Thul, Kindergarten, Ramsey Elementary School.
  • Stephanie Ylvisaker, Math, Blaine High School.

The nine Anoka-Hennepin teachers are among 131 candidates for the award statewide. 

This year’s program will name the 59th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through grade 12, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. 

The 59th Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 7. Over the coming weeks, a panel of community leaders will name a group of semifinalists and finalists. 

Read more about the award, or see a statewide list of all of the candidates on the Education Minnesota website.