Return to Headlines

Announcing recipients of 2022-23 Above & Beyond Awards

Above & Beyond text and 2022-23 recipients(03/03/2023) Thirteen outstanding district employees have been selected to receive the Anoka-Hennepin School District’s 2022-23 Above & Beyond Award. 

The recipients are:

  • Billie Davis-Fehr, Monroe Elementary, teacher, special education (ASD). 
  • Lana Johnson, Ramsey Elementary, teacher, grade 3.
  • Rachel Jorgensen, Anoka High School, teacher, work based learning.
  • Sarah Kisiah, Northdale Middle School, teacher, English, AVID support teacher.
  • Dominic Krebsbach, Monroe Elementary, teacher, grade 4.
  • Sarah Lindbo, Champlin-Brooklyn Park Academy, teacher, grade 2.
  • Jennifer Peña, Blaine High School, licensed school nurse.
  • John Peña, Coon Rapids High School, principal.
  • Molly Schuster, Oxbow Creek Elementary, paraeducator, elementary.
  • Jacob Southmayd, Dayton Elementary, teacher, special education (ABS).
  • Minh Strusz, Hoover Elementary, principal.
  • Bill Underwood, Educational Service Center, teaching and learning specialist, special education technology.
  • Jacque Weidner, Lincoln Elementary, teacher, special education (SLD)

The 2023 Above & Beyond Awards ceremony to honor these 13 exceptional employees will take place Wednesday, March 29 at the Educational Service Center (ESC).

The Above & Beyond Awards involve students, staff, parents and community members in recognizing and rewarding Anoka-Hennepin employees — teachers, secretaries, cooks, paras, custodians and others — who consistently go that extra mile so students can be successful. Over 150 staff members were nominated for the 2023 awards, the 26th year of a recognition program in the school district’s history. 

The Anoka-Hennepin Educational Foundation (AHEF) and Anoka-Hennepin Schools sponsor the Above & Beyond Awards program jointly. Its mission is to recognize outstanding employees for innovation, creativity, caring and commitment. Award recipients were nominated by parents, students and colleagues, and were selected by a panel of community representatives, staff and principals.

Award criteria considered included going the extra mile or exceeding expectations in job duties; making an extra effort to support students’ learning and well being; developing positive relationships with students, families, and/or community; demonstrating exceptional care and concern for students; developing new ideas to enhance learning, solve problems and/or meet district needs; bringing together ideas and/or resources and/or people to overcome difficulties or challenges; inspiring others to do and be their best; collaborating with outside resources; and working effectively with people of different races, religions, values, attitudes, experiences and customs.

In the coming weeks, watch for articles highlighting each of the award recipients and the opportunity to view photos and video from the upcoming award ceremony.