• RMS offers many clubs, groups and after-school sports.   All sports can be found on the community education website.  

    Find specific meeting dates/times on our activities calendar for all clubs, groups, and sports.  

    Club/Group Contact Name Email Start Date End Date Brief Description
    Board Game Club Curtis Huso curtis.huso@ahschools.us October May Students gather to play tabletop games, old and new. The club continues to be open to all students with the aim of supporting social relationships, strategic thinking and of course fun!
    Battle of the Books Jodi Blair Jodi.Blair@ahschools.us Fall Spring  
    Destination Imagination Jenny Johnson JenniferA.Johnson@ahschools.us October March-May MN DI
    Fall Musical Shanan Edelheit shanan.edelheit@ahschools.us October (every other year)   A play performed by students. NOT A MUSICAL. Only the necessary number of students will be cast.
    Fuel up to Play 60 Diane Adair  diane.adair@ahschools.us     NFL and Midwest Dairy sponsored program to learn about healthy eating and working up to play 60 minutes daily. Computer and physical games with other students. Building student leadership skills
    Geography Bee       Spring All students participate during their Social Studies Classes.
    GSA

    Denise Fennick

    Tatiana Pham

    denise.fennick@ahschools.us October May It is a student-run group which provides a safe place for students to meet, support each other and talk about issues related to sexual orientation and gender identity and expression. It is open to all students.
    Knowledge Bowl Carin Call carin.call@ahschools.us November February An exciting team sport. A fast-paced academic competition (similar to the TV show Jeopardy) testing knowledge in all subject areas, except that you compete as a team against other middle school teams from around the metro.
    Lego Robotics Mike Race michael.race@ahschools.us     Learn and demonstrate your skills and knowledge about Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) principles as you design, construct and program a robot that navigates itself.
    Math League Alyson Griffin alyson.griffin@ahschools.us October January Compete individually and as a team to solve challenging math problems. Practice after school will prepare you to take on other schools in the district.
    Newspaper Club Matt VanZee Matt.VanZee@ahschools.us Fall Spring Help make the school newspaper
    Optimist Oratorical Contest Alyson Griffin alyson.griffin@ahschools.us     Speech contest hosted by the Optimist Club of Minnesota. Students can win scholarship money.
    Play to Your Strengths Club Mike Race michael.race@ahschools.us 8-week meetings running at varying times throughout the year   A leadership group focused on identifying and growing your strengths through the Gallup StrengthsFinder. This group is run by RMS volunteers.
    Royal Strings Rebecca Haukom Rebecca.Haukom@ahschools.us 10/25/18 May Extra-curricular orchestra group
    Ski Club Mike Race michael.race@ahschools.us 12/14/2018 02/08/2019 Ski club offers many opportunities to enjoy the snow, make new friends and participate in a lifetime sport. No previous experience necessary.
    Spelling Bee  Tammy Gruenwald  tammy.gruenwald@ahschools.us   Spring All students participate during their ELA classroom.
    Spring Musical Shanan Edelheit shanan.edelheit@ahschools.us Dec/Jan May Musical performed by students. Includes singing and dancing. ALL students who audition can be involved.
    STEP Team Tatiana Pham tatiana.pham@ahschools.us October April Open to all students. It is a great place to show their leadership skills, work as a team and show their creativity.
    Student Council juleen adrian juleen.adrian@ahschools.us begininng of school end of school 6th, 7th and 8th graders are elected by their classmates in the fall (6th graders) and spring (for the following year 6 and 7th graders). They organize activity nights, school spirit week, food drive and more.
    WE Act Nicki Magaard nicole.magaard@ahschools.us October May This group of students helps to create and implement kindness activities for the RMS community, and completes local and global acts of service. Students will also be able to attend the WE Act event when it is local.
    Yearbook Angel Leckner  angel.leckner@ahschools.us Fall Spring Help create the RMS yearbook.