Return to Headlines

Candidates file for Anoka-Hennepin School Board election

ANOKA, MINN. – A total of seven candidates have filed for Anoka-Hennepin School Board candidacy for the upcoming election this fall - one of which is an incumbent. The two-week filing period ended Aug. 15. 

The general election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2023.

  • In District 1, which includes Anoka, western Andover, western Coon Rapids and southwestern Ramsey, incumbent Erin Heers-McArdle of Anoka, and Linda Hoekman, of Ramsey, have filed for candidacy.

  • Zach Arco and Susan Witt, both from Blaine, have filed for election in District 2, which includes Blaine and eastern Coon Rapids.

  • In District 5, which includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, southern Coon Rapids and Fridley, Michelle Langenfeld of Coon Rapids, Scott Simmons of Brooklyn Park, and Cyrus Wilson of Coon Rapids, have filed for candidacy.

School board members serve four-year terms. The terms for incumbent members of each district expire on Dec. 31, 2023.

To see which district you live in, visit the Minnesota Secretary of State polling place finder.

For more information about where and how to vote, visit the Minnesota Secretary of State’s website.

Information about the election process or voter registration is available through the Anoka County Elections office or contact them at or 763-324-1300.