Return to Headlines

Pre-registration deadline to vote in the 2019 election is Oct. 15.

Save time at the polls on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 5, by registering to vote now.


Pre-register or update your registration online

Register, change your registration or check if you’re registered at You must update your registration if you changed your name or address since the last election. Registering online only takes a couple minutes, and the application is mobile-friendly.

You’ll need to provide an email address and an identification number from one of the following:

  • Minnesota driver's license
  • Minnesota ID card
  • Last four digits of Social Security number

Voters may pre-register on paper by October 15, or register at their polling place on Election Day, November 5.

Determine if there is an election in your area


Voting information

Polling locations may be different than the place you voted in the last election. Enter your address in the Minnesota Secretary of State’s voter polling place finder at or call 763-324-1300 for assistance finding to polling location that serves your area. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Absentee voting

Eligible voters may vote absentee in person or by mail prior to election day. In-person absentee voting is available at the Anoka County Government Center during regular business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday. In-person absentee voting is also available 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 3 and until 5 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 4. The Anoka County Courthouse is located at 2100 3rd Ave. in downtown Anoka.

To request an absentee ballot application please contact Anoka County Elections at or by calling 763-324-1300. Ballots must be returned by 8 p.m. on Election Day to be counted.

Anoka-Hennepin School Board Election

Three seats on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board are up for election on Tuesday, Nov. 5 - districts one, two and five. Voters within those districts will elect representatives to serve the community as school board members for the next four years.

On the ballot:

  • District one includes Anoka and portions of Ramsey, Coon Rapids and Andover. This seat is currently held by Tom Heidemann of Anoka, who has filed for re-election. Heidemann serves as board chairperson. Erin Heers-McCardle, also of Anoka, who has also filed for election for the position. 

  • District two includes Blaine and a portion of eastern Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Marci Anderson of Blaine, who has filed for re-election. Anderson is currently the vice chair and is running unopposed.

  • District five includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Fridley and a portion of south/southern Coon Rapids. This seat is currently held by Nicole Hayes of Brooklyn Park, who has filed for re-election and is running unopposed.