Return to Headlines

Bus safety poster contest winners recognized at transportation department meeting

(03/08/19) The Anoka-Hennepin transportation department recognized the Bus Safety Poster Contest winners winners of the 24th annual school bus safety poster contest at its monthly safety meeting on March 6 at the Educational Service Center (ESC).

“This is by far our favorite meeting of the year,” said Jeff Mueller, transportation safety coordinator and poster contest organizer. “We are extremely proud of our students and the work that they put into these posters. The creativity and attention to detail that was displayed in their artwork was truly impressive.”


View photos of the event.

This year’s theme was: “Red Lights Mean Stop!” The transportation department invited students at all grade-levels to submit their best artwork for the competition. Each school held their own poster contest, with one winner being chosen from each grade-level, and the winning poster for each school was entered into the district poster contest.

The objective of the contest was to encourage students to think about school bus safety and presents opportunities for discussion during Winter School Bus Safety Week.

The winners of the district-level judging will now be entered into the Minnesota school bus safety poster contest, with winners from there advancing to the national level.

The winners are:

  • Paxton Lehn, kindergarten, McKinley Elementary School.
  • Bausie Rote, first grade, Oxbow Creek Elementary School.
  • Avrie Siedschlag, second grade, Sand Creek Elementary School.
  • Saee More, third grade, Sand Creek Elementary School.
  • Gianna Stevens, fourth grade, Rum River Elementary School.
  • Molly Siedschlag, fifth grade, Sand Creek Elementary School.
  • Lucia Rote, sixth grade, Jackson Middle School - A Specialty School for Math and Science.
  • Arielle Jacobs, seventh grade, Anoka Middle School for the Arts.
  • Faith Gapen, ninth grade, Compass Program.
  • Hailey Petersen, 10th grade, Anoka High School.
  • Malaika Wilson, 12th grade, Anoka High School.

Winning posters will be displayed in buildings across the district to promote bus safety.