Return to Headlines

District students named to middle school state honors choir

(10/31/19) Anoka-Hennepin will be well-represented in the seventh and eighth grade American Choral Directors Association of Minnesota (ACDA-MN) state honors choir when it performs in ACDA of Minnesota logo November. A group of 16 students representing Oak View Middle School (OVMS) in Andover, Jackson Middle School (JMS) in Champlin and Northdale Middle School (NMS) in Coon Rapids have been selected to the prestigious choir.


Each academic year, seven special honor choir projects are organized to provide enriched singing opportunities for students in grades four through 10. Over 2,400 students audition, with over 940 selected to participate in the honor choir program.


The seventh and eighth-grade state honors choirs will perform at 5:30 p.m. at St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church in Mahtomedi on Nov. 16. Visit the ACDA-MN website for more information.


Melanie Kjellberg, director of choirs at Andover High School, will serve as one of the guest conductors for the seventh and eighth-grade state honors choir.


Anoka-Hennepin participants:

Boys list

  • Emmet Olson - OVMS.
  • Finn Dillinger - OVMS.
  • Ryu Vang - JMS.
  • Caillou Vang - JMS.
  • Isaac Nelson - JMS.
  • Gabe Oelkers - JMS.
  • Zachary Agustin - NMS.

Girls list

  • Katelyn Lee - JMS.
  • Agartu Berhanu - JMS.
  • Evelyn Kirkham - JMS.
  • Isabelle Haring-Becher - NMS.
  • Lilianna Henderson - OVMS.
  • Isabella Novak - OVMS.
  • Julia Ogren - OVMS.
  • Lila Epp - OVMS.
  • Ava O’Brian - OVMS.