Return to Headlines

Nine district students place in state bus safety poster contest; two selected for national competition

Winners from this year's district school bus safety poster contest(06/22/2022) Nine students from Anoka-Hennepin placed either first or second in their respective grade level in the state bus safety poster contest, and two students were selected to represent the state of Minnesota in the national contest. 

Mia Yarmakovich (first grade, Oxbow Creek Elementary School), Cooper Axelrod (third grade, Sunrise Elementary School), Avery Dikken (fourth grade, Andover Elementary School), Avrie Siedschlag (fifth grade, Sand Creek Elementary School), Clare Jolly (sixth grade, Oak View Middle School), Kahlan Iblings (seventh grade, Oak View Middle School) and Molly Siedschlag (eighth grade, Coon Rapids Middle School) all earned first place at their grade level.

Avrie Siedschlag and Iblings had their artwork selected to compete in the national contest in October.  

This year’s theme was: 1 Bus + 1 Driver = A Big Impact on Education. The transportation department invited students in all grade levels to submit their best artwork for the competition. Each school held their own poster contest, with one winner being chosen from each grade level, and the winning poster for each school was entered into the district poster contest. 

The objective of the contest was to encourage students to think about school bus safety, while also presenting an opportunity for discussion during School Bus Safety Week.

State contest results:

Congratulations to all participants!

Winning posters from the district contest were also displayed in school buildings across the district.