Return to Headlines

Three district educators named semifinalists for Minnesota Teacher of the Year award

photos and names of teacher of the year semifinalists(03/07/2023) Of the eight Anoka-Hennepin educators named candidates for the 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award, three have been selected as semifinalists. 

Wendi Delmore, a second grade teacher at McKinley Elementary School, Johanna Mueller, a fourth grade teacher at Hamilton Elementary School, and Lisa Neaderhiser, a special education teacher (EBD) at Jackson Middle School - A Specialty School for Math and Science, are among 44 semifinalist candidates for the award statewide.

On March 1, Education Minnesota announced 33 semifinalists before discovering a data error, resulting in 11 more educators being named semifinalists on March 7. 

“I am extremely humbled and honored to be nominated and recognized for doing what I truly love to do,” Delmore said. “I honestly can't believe this is happening.”

"It is so humbling to be nominated as a semifinalist because I know how hard all teachers are working right now to get kids on track after the challenges of the pandemic," Mueller said. "I am especially excited to put a spotlight on my school, Hamilton Elementary. Hamilton's strength is its diverse student body, and the staff at Hamilton are working every day to come up with creative solutions to engage our students and challenge the status quo."

“To be nominated and advance on to the semifinals is such an incredible honor,” Neaderhiser said. “I have been an EBD teacher for half of my life. When I accepted the nomination and began my reflection on my career, I looked back on my journey with a smile and a full heart. I have been doing something that I truly love. I am so honored to be recognized along with all of these amazing educators. Being a teacher in the Anoka-Hennepin School District has been the highlight of my career.”

This year’s program will name the 59th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. Eligible candidates include pre-kindergarten through grade 12, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools. 

The 2023 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 7 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. 

Read more about the award, and see a statewide list of semifinalists on the Education Minnesota website.