Return to Headlines

Anoka-Hennepin thanks outgoing board members for their service

Anoka-Hennepin School Board Dec. 2023(12/15/2023) Three board members were honored at the Anoka-Hennepin School Board meeting Dec. 11, which was the last meeting of the year in addition to the conclusion of their service to the Anoka-Hennepin School Board.

  • Erin Heers-McArdle, Treasurer, (District One) served one four-year term.

  • Nicole Hayes, Vice Chair (District Three), served a total of nine years on the school board following her appointment to the board in 2015.

  • Board Chair, Marci Anderson (District Two) served three four-year terms. 

All three board members were presented with a bell in recognition of their commitment, dedication and service to the Anoka-Hennepin School District.

Erin Heers-McArdle, District One
Erin Heers-McArdle joined the Anoka-Hennepin School Board in 2020 and served in a board leadership position as school board treasurer for the past two years.  

Heers-McArdle provided valuable service as the board representative on the Association of Metropolitan School Districts, the Northwest Suburban Integration School District (NWSISD) - serving as Treasurer for NWSISD, as well. During her time on the Anoka-Hennepin School Board, Heers-McArdle served on board committees, including the Community Education Advisory Committee, the Elementary Science Curriculum Committee, the policy review and advisory committee, student services advisory committee, MSBA delegate assembly, a representative for the Minnesota State High School League, the Secondary Science Study Committee, the Fall Contingency Planning Steering Committee (for COVID-19), the Special Education Advisory Committee and Tribal Council or TNEC.

Nicole Hayes, District Three
Hayes began board service after an appointment to represent District 5 in 2015. Following her appointment, Hayes won two elections, serving a total of nine years on the School Board. Her service included four years as school board Vice Chair.

In her leadership position, Nicole represented the School Board on a number or advisory committees or Boards including the Community Education Advisory Committee, the Curriculum and Instruction Advisory Committee (CIAC), the Student Services Advisory Committee, the Student Services Leadership Team, the Secondary Math Curriculum Study Committee, the Secondary Social Studies Curriculum Studies Committee, the Labor Management Committee, and served as representatives of a number of boards including Indian Education (TNEC), the Anoka-Hennepin Educational Foundation, Brooklyn Bridge Alliance, NWSISD, and the Association of Metropolitan School District.

Hayes was recognized as a state leader for school board members and served as a member of the Minnesota School Board Association Board (MSBA), set to receive the President’s Award at the upcoming conference. She also received the Directors Award and Leadership Development Certificate from MSBA in 2019. Vice Chair Hayes was a featured presenter at the MSBA Leadership Conference and COSSBA National Conference in 2023. 

Hayes also served as the school board representative on the Minnesota Teacher of the Year selection committee, and on the MSBA student scholarship committee and delegate assembly. 

Marci Anderson, District Two
Chair Anderson was first elected to represent District 2 on the School Board in 2008 and won re-election three times. She began service as vice chair in 2012, and was elected board chair in 2020. Anderson holds the distinction as the first woman to serve as the School Board Chair in the history of the school district, and was also presented with a ceremonial gavel to commemorate her service in that role.

During her time as vice chair and as a representative of the growing Blaine community, Anderson’s work to shape the 2017 Fit for the Future referendum, which was the largest referendum in the state and remains the largest in district history. 

Along with service to the Anoka-Hennepin Board, Chair Anderson serves on the board of directors for BrightWorks, a nonprofit educational cooperative established in 1976 by the the Minnesota Legislature to provide cost-effective, high quality education services and programs to public schools/districts, private schools and nonprofits in the Twin Cities metro area. She also serves on the board of MSDLAF which is a comprehensive cash management program created in 1984 for the purpose of allowing Minnesota public school entities and districts to pool investment funds to seek the highest possible investment yield, while maintaining liquidity and preserving capital. 

Chair Anderson served on the TIES Board of Education and on the TIES Executive Committee from 2009 until 2016. During her tenure on the executive committee, she held various officer roles, with her last three years as Vice Chair.  

Prior to her school board election, Marci participated and/or provided leadership for several other local organizations as an active community volunteer including the 2002 Levy Yes Committee, the Anoka-Hennepin Parent Legislative Team, the Blaine Soccer Club and the Girl Scouts of America. 

Future transitions
Beginning January 2024, three new school board members will begin their four-year terms of service. District One will be represented by Linda Hoekman, Michelle Langenfeld will serve as a representative in District Three and Zach Arco will represent District Two.

The Anoka-Hennepin School Board includes six members, each elected to represent a portion of the district. Three positions are decided every two years, with the next election set for members representing districts 3, 4 and 6 set for November 2025.

Learn more about the Anoka-Hennepin School Board and its members at

Related links
Watch the meeting. 
View photos from the recognition event.