• Helping students reach their full potential 

    It is the primary mission of the Anoka-Hennepin School Counseling Program to support students in developing an individual vision of success to meet their academic, personal/social, post-secondary, college and career readiness goals. 
     
    School counselors collaborate with students, families, community members and school personnel to assure that all students realize and integrate their academic, career and personal/social potential in order to develop and achieve an individualized vision of success.
    • Collaborate - school counselors collaborate with students, families, school staff and community partners to help schools achieve their mission and students reach their goals.
    • Academic support – school counselors help students with topics such as academic organization, course planning, study skills and post-secondary preparation.
    • College and career planning – school counselors help students identify possible career paths through interest inventories, personality type assessments and learning style tests. Counselors help students understand the connections between their academic learning, post-secondary education and training, and their career goals.
    • Personal/social support – school counselors help students with issues such as bully prevention, anger management, problem solving and cooperation. Counselors work with families to find students additional support if needed.
    The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) model.
  • ACT update

    The safety of students and test center staff is ACT’s top priority. ACT has rescheduled its April 4 national test date to June 13 across the U.S. in response to concerns about the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19). All students registered for the April 4 test date will receive an email from ACT in the next few days informing them of the postponement and instructions for free rescheduling to June 13 or a future national test date. Learn more.
  • Contacts 

    2020-21 Counselor Appointment Request Form

     

    2020-21 BHS Schedule Change Request Form

     

    BHS Counseling Google Site

     

    Ali Wilson
    A-Cn
    763-506-6527
    Alice.Wilson@ahschools.us 
     
    Mary Boren 
    Co-He
    763-506-6525
    Mary.Boren@ahschools.us
     
    Sarah Bonin
    Hf-L
    763-506-6521
    Sarah.Bonin@ahschools.us
     
    Todd Poepard
    M-Q
    763-506-6671
    Todd.Poepard@ahschools.us
     
    Laura Weisbrich 
    R-Tq
    763-506-6523
    Laura.Weisbrich@ahschools.us
     
    Lyssa Oldre/Mary Ann Adams (Tri 1)
    Tr-Z
    CEMS S-Z
    763-506-6522 
    Elizabeth.Oldre@ahschools.us
    MaryAnn.Adams@ahschools.us
     
    Allison Fjeld
    CEMS A-R
    763-506-6529 
    Allison.Fjeld@ahschools.us 
     
    Ann Edwards
    Counseling office professional
    763-506-6609
    Ann.Edwards@ahschools.us
     
    Nicole Peterson
    Student support office professional
    763-506-6517
    Nicole.Peterson@ahschools.us